Mythical soon-to-be-attracted-user

Last days there were many discussions on the forum about the future of openHAB. Very interesting and necessary discussions, and many times quite technical reads. One topic that comes back over time is the argument that a certain technology or development direction needs to be chosen to attract more users, not to scare away power-users, attract novice users, ‘grow’ the base etc.

I’ve been using openHAB since three years now, and the development over time has been impressive. My gut feel says that the community of users and the adoption of openHAB in home automation setups is growing. If we could have more data on this we can use this to give us confidence that we are on the right path and that our future improvements will satisfy our current base and newcomers alike. and be able to make arguments based on what current users want (new, noobs and powerusers and everything in between) instead of always referring to this mythical soon-to-be-attracted-user.

I started a discussion on this a while ago:

It would be great if at least we could get some numbers from maintainers on:
1) Social engagement:

• Number of active forum users (min 1 visit / month)
  • Number of posts / month (new topics & replies)
  • Number of active myopenHAB users (local openHAB interacts at least once in that month with the cloudserver)

2) ‘Hard’ data

• Number of downloads (openHABian, github, etc.)
  • Website visitors

And this data does not tell us a lot unless we can see the trends (monthly or quarterly / from 2015 - 2019).

Who can support this? I would be willing to collect all data and make a simple overview in Google Spreadsheets.

5 Likes

I can see some of this information but keep in mind this is just a snapshot in time.

At the time of this posting:

• More than 100 active users on the forum within the last minute (the list will only show the top 100 but all have been seen within the last minute)