Need advice on making my OH3 rules more flexible

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: synology NAS - docker
    • openHAB version: 3.0.1

Hi all,

I am new to OH, started with OH3 for mainly automating Swimming pool filtration and heating making use of solar energy. To optimise the usage of my solar production I want to heat my pool when I produce more energy than I consume.
I read electricity production or consumption with MQTT, and use Shelly devices to switch my pool pump and heat pump on or off, based on the solar production.
I defined all items and rules using the UI interface, and persistence is writing data to mariadb via jdbc.
As front end I have HabPanel
So far my rules are very simple and work as expected:

• when solar production is above 1 kW I turn on the pool pump
  • when solar production is above 2 kW I turn on heat pump
  • when solar production is zero switch off pool pump and heat pump
    The first rule looks like this, others are similar:
triggers:
  - id: "1"
    configuration:
      itemName: GenericMQTTThing_ElectricityCurrentlyReturned
      previousState: ""
    type: core.ItemStateChangeTrigger
conditions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "3"
    configuration:
      itemName: GenericMQTTThing_ElectricityCurrentlyReturned
      state: "1.0"
      operator: ">"
    type: core.ItemStateCondition
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      itemName: ShellySwitchPoolPumpPower
      command: ON
    type: core.ItemCommandAction

The 2 pumps together use around 3 kW, heat pump requires working pool pump, so I split them in 2 rules, since pool pump must run a minimal amount of time per day, also when it is cloudy, heating is ideally only when there is enough solar energy production.

Now I would like to add a couple of improvements, can someone give me some recommendations on how to achieve this?