Need working example for openHAB MQTT over TLS

Hello - I’ve been using openHAB for many years since the 1.x days and am currently runnign the latest 2.5.x. I’m trying to move all of my MQTT connections from plain text uname/passwd to encrypted connections with TLS. I have multiple machines running openHAB so not all of my openHAB MQTT connections are to localhost.

I have set up my broker to accept incoming TLS connections, created self-signed X509 certs and can successfully connect via the command line - like this:

mosquitto_pub -h 192.168.1.200 -p 8883 -i "blahblah" --cafile ./ca.crt --cert ./client.crt  --key ./client.key -d -t "foo/bar/motion" -m "OPEN"

I have set up all of my various devices (a few cameras that communicate via MQTT), scripts (Python, PERL, sh, etc) to use MQTT via TLS, but I cannot seem to get openHAB to successful connect.

I have googled and searched this forum and while there seems to be a lot of information out there, it all seems to be old and no longer relevant - typically from the OH 2.x beta/milestone release days. The most relevant thread I have found is this one:

This thread even has a new post from @DiViNe a few days also looking for help on this topic, but the examples in this tutorial don’t work and the thread seems to be abandoned.

So, does anyone in the community have a working example of how to create certs needed, get them into OH and connect to an MQTT broker over TLS? Once we have this defined, I’ll contact the binding’s author and see if we can get this added to the documentation.

How did you setup the bridge paperUI or things file?

Did you setup a basic auth username password?

did you set secure to true?

@denominator

I haven’t been able to get any tls certs into openHAB so trying to setup a client and connect doesn’t do much.

I configured a client on paperUI with secure connection turned on and the port set to 8883, the MQTT over TLS port.

The thing never goes online showing this error in paperUI