Neohub in openHAB 2.2 using Paper UI - Too ambitious for a raw beginner?

• Platform information:
    • Java Runtime Environment: _which java platform is used and what version_Oracle jre1.8.0_161
    • openHAB version: 2.2.0
  • Issue of the topic: please be detailed explaining your issue.
    Although I do have plenty of experience working with numerous industrial telemetry systems at work, I’m a complete novice with OpenHAB. My intention is to build slowly, gain experience with say some light switches or wifi bulbs. I’ll move on to a rasp pi fairly quickly I think.

I have openHAB running on the PC and have jumped straight in to Paper UI.
As I have virtually nothing to monitor or control yet I’ve added bindings for Network and Kodi.
Inbox will search and find many devices on my network.
I’ve added kodi mediacentre as a thing and volume control as an item.
Using the Android openHab app on my phone I can turn kodi volume up and down when it’s streaming a film from a different PC.
All good up to this point then.
My problem comes when I install neohub binding in addons (I have 14 neostats). When I go back to configuration to add a thing, neohub doesn’t appear in the choice of bindings to pick.

So my question:- Is this too much of a “deep end” thing for me to try to do at this point?
I think I probably need to configure it by text in .cfg files somewhere but I can’t work out which one(s) and where in the directory structure. I’ve seen the help for neohub in the documentation but I must be just too much of a beginner to understand that. I probably need some syntax examples too.

PS OpenHAB looks an amazing system, thanks to everyone who must have put in masses of effort.

Neohub is a 1.x version binding. PaperUI is unable to do anything with 1.x version bindings beyond installation.

You will need to create .items files and manually define Items using the syntax defined in the Neohub binding README.