Nest - Can read but not update

Hi all,

I’m very new to OpenHab and as a first project I wanted to get it working with my Nest thermostat - I have an interesting problem that seems similar but not the same as others on this forum.

I’ve set up three items related to my Nest:

String  home_away       "Home/Away [%s]"        <present>       { nest="=[structures(Home).away]" }
Number  downstairs_temp "Downstairs Temp  [%.1f °C]"    <temperature>   { nest="=[thermostats(Living Room).ambient_temperature_c]" }
Number  living_room_target_temperature_c        "Target Temperature [%.1f]"     { nest="=[thermostats(Living Room).target_temperature_c]" }

All of these items correctly update, showing these respectively:

Away Status
Current Temperature
Target Temp

Also, I’ve set the sitemap to display these, and allow me to amend Target Temp:

Frame label="home"{
        Switch item=home_away mappings=[home="Home",away="Away"]
        Text item=downstairs_temp
        Setpoint item=living_room_target_temperature_c label="Target Temperature [%.1f °C]" minValue=0 maxValue=40 step=1
}

These all display the value fine (e.g. it hooked up to the Nest API and is reading back)- but I cannot get it to change the temperature or away status. Having enabled TRACE level logging I get these lines when trying to set the temp (I’ve partially blocked out my keys:

2016-05-20 14:53:57.075 [DEBUG] [.o.b.nest.internal.NestBinding] - About to set property 'thermostats(Living Room).target_temperature_c' to '10.0'