New binding: Selve rollershutter binding

Hello board,
I’m an openHab user for some time now. Now I got something new … an USB dongle, that contains a Gateway solution for Selve rollershutter RF motors.
The USB key is basically a virtual Serial port towards the Operating System. I tested it with a current Debian release and it automatically creates a virtual Serial port (/dev/tty ….).

The commands for the rollershutters is passed in XML (using screen or minicom or putty or or or…) to the RF Gateway.
The Vendor selve offers a Pretty good documentation regarding the API
(https://www.selve.de/de/service/software-updates/service-entwicklungstool-commeo-usb-rf-gateway/) - sorry it’s in German.

So the Question is … should I use an existing “Serial” binding for it? From my Point of view it is more user friedly to develop a Special binding for this, that a user must not the bothered with the API directly. What do you think?

I’m a Network Consultant and used to program in Python, C#, PowerShell and of curse the litte bash helpers. However, I’m completely new to Java but I’m keen to give it a try.

So here are some Questions:

• Do you think this binding is worth it? Meaning is there a user base, that is interested in it?
  • It it better to not do it and use an existing General Serial binding (and probably write a how-to for the Integration of the “selve USB key” as a use-case?
  • A good hint how to start. As i wrote before, I’m started here: https://www.openhab.org/docs/developer/contributing/contributing.html#the-repositories
  • Which Namespace to Chose?

Thanks in Advance
netgab / joe

P.S.: Don’t know why my browser auto-corrects the upper- and lowercase in this text in a weird way … just ignore the incorrect case-sensitivity :slight_smile:

That’s a good way to prototype and work through the details of the API. Once you know the ins and outs of the API it might inform design decisions when you start to build the binding itself.