New house and openHAB Modbus RTU project

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3 B
    • Java Runtime Environment:
    • openHAB version: 2.5.10-1
  • Issue of the topic: Project

So, I’m new in openHAB platform. I will build a new house and install domotic to control Lights, Window shutters, Air Conditioner, Temperature, VMC, and grass watering, etc.

My main concern on this project was the money invested versus the quality and strong high-availability of the systems. I know and almost the persons already hear about KNX and KNX solutions. This solution is very robust, with a high level of quality and availability. But I’m in Portugal :smiley: , those types of equipment are quite expensive.

So I did some research and found an identical solution, in my opinion with high quality and strong enough, it is the Modbus. This communication protocol is used in industries, so it is very strong and with a lot of years of development, It uses a cable connection between the modules, we can found devices for all types of situations and those have a reasonable price.

I found a distributor in Portugal that represents an All-In-one device, with Modbus RTU, Digital Inputs, and Coil outputs with Power 230v(10A, 20A), etc. Those devices can be mounted on DIN electrical board and connected to Raspberry Pi with a USB - RS485 adapter.

Now I’m diving on openHAB and testing the communication over Modbus with those devices, until now everything is working perfectly. :slight_smile:

I will use the following setup:

openHAB
Raspberry Pi;
Modbus RTU Modules IO for Windows shutters, lights, VMC, and AQS control;
Z-Wave for temperature, humidity, and smoke detection;
Daikin Binding integration to control the AC.

# Devices communicating, receiving info from Digital Inputs and power the coils at openHAB

Keep the good platform rolling!!

Hello,
I see my friend that I had a similar idea, how to replace the expensive KNX.