New to binding development

I am very new to the openHab framework and I intend using it for my final project. I have being able to setup the runtime on a raspberry pi. It is now left with the binding development. I am going to use an arduino yun to build smart power socket and I intend to control it using a mobile app. I have set-up the eclipse smarthome development IDE, I tried setting up that of openHab but my internet connection is bad. But since the ESH and OH2 have the same architecture if I am right.

I intend to use COAP or MQTT (have read a little about them). I will be happy if Someone can help me out with the binding development and someone I can message about from this platform.

First make sure the existing bindings are not suitable for your needs. There is already an MQTT binding, TCP binding, Serial binding, and HTTP binding that others have used to communicate with this sort of system.

There are already sooooo many bindings, over 120 “official” ones at last count. I hate to see even more created, particularly in cases where you can achieve the same thing with existing ones.

Since you are already thinking of using MQTT, why not follow the common design pattern of having your Yun talk to a bridge wirelessly (or implement MQTT on the Yun directly) which talks to an MQTT broker. Then using the MQTT Binding openHAB sends and receives messages through the broker. I and many others have successfully used this approach and no new bindings are required.

Save the development of a new binding for only those cases where you need to interact with a custom API, have authentication requirements that the existing bindings can’t handle, or you need to implement a specific protocol.

The whole idea is I need to develop my own binding. What do you suggest

Well, if it is just for yourself or a school project then go for it. It could be a good learning exercise.