New to openHAB, Recommendations?

Hello, I’m new to openHAB as well as little/no knowledge with programming, however I’m not afraid to learn.
I am building a new home and looking to do home automation and whole home a/v. I’ve landed on openHAB for a couple of reasons, poor internet service due to our location and I don’t want to pay service fees to companies for services that I will likely be unhappy with.

So I’m looking for recommendations. I plan to start building my network and a/v system little by little as the house is being built. I will be wiring everything myself and installing everything myself. At this time I know I will have a dedicated media/network closet, a whole home audio setup, security cameras, lighting controls, etc. I have purchased a few “smart” devices to start practicing with openHAB and try to get familiar with everything before it’s time to go live in the new house. Currently have a Nest thermostat, August door lock, LifX light, and some smart plugs.
I’m open to any brands but getting things to work without the cloud is important due to poor internet. We have a local company that’s called Whisper, sort of a satellite/cell hybrid internet.

What’s working best for you guys?

Whole home audio
Lighting controls
Security system
Security camera
Garage door openers
A/V controls
Etc…

While OH can integrate with some audio stuff (Sonos, Kodi, Plex, Chromecast, Squeezbox, Spotify, etc) OH is not a media control center. You can set up some static things like play X playlist but it is not going to let you create said playlist, for instance.

Whole home audio has never been that big of a deal to me. I mainly have a Google Home Hub in a group with a Chromecast Audio for audio control on the main floor. My needs are simple and this fits the bill both in cost and capability.