New to OpenHab

I am very new to the entire home automation. I have a raspberry pi that I have followed tutorials and installed openhab. I have figured out how to login to it via my smartphone and view the demo sitemap. Now I am looking at making my own site map to include fan controls, temp/humidity readings, switch controls, and more. I would like to control the fans based on temperature, and or the push of a button on my phone. I am buying a 8 channel relay board to pair with my pi using the gpio ports. I have no clue where to begin. I haven’t purchased any z wave wall switches as of yet, but that is the plan. What I would like to know is how to get the addon for gpio, and then how to begin constructing my sitemap. I have 4 Adafruit HTU21D-F temp/humidity sensors coming to connect via GPIO, that is another thing I will have to figure out how to wire and get the PI to read them. I ordered a Gertbot as well, I don’t know as it will be of any use for this project. If anyone has any advice or examples, please help!! Thank you.

My advice is to start much much smaller. Take on home automation is small steps.

1. Play around with modifications to the demo sitemap, Items, and rules and see how things change and how they interact. Read the wiki.

2. Create a new sitemap and some Items and Rules from scratch. Don’t worry about making them actually do something just yet. Again you are trying to get a feel for how the various parts of OH work together.

3. Now start to play with bindings. Good bindings to start with include the Weather Binding, Astro Binding, and Network Health bindings as they don’t require anything else besides networking to work. And you will very likely want to use them in your final setup as well.