[NEWBIE] Discussion: Which is the best UI for mobile?

Hello y’all,

i am new to OpenHab and wondering, which UIs y’all are uising.

I have previously used FHEM and the FHEM Widget iPhone/iPad App, which gave me a customizable Grid-View on my Phones Lockscreen. 95% of the UI accesses will come frome smartphones, so mobile optimiziation is my number one priority. The solution has to be suitable for non tech-savy persons in the household :slight_smile:

So far i have made the following experiences, are those correct or am i missing something?

HABPanel: Optimizing a HABPanel UI for Mobile is pretty painfull, since the scaling has to be done manually, resulting in different experiences on different devices. I did not manage to build an UI that would work on two of our households phones (admittedly, one with 1080p Screen one with 4k) and am not willing to build various views for various different devices. Additionally, most plugins i came along, did not work when scaled that much.

PaperUI: Using the PaperUI for non-administrative tasks is not recommended (as found here ). I could confirm that, as i did not manage to hide or customize certain objects enough, so that they would work “self-explainatory” for a non tech-savy person. Did someone successfully hide elements from thie list-view in Locations?

BasicUI: I like everything about that UI. execept the limitation in usable widgets. Not beeing able to add some sort of MediaControl unfourtunately is no option for me :frowning:

HABot: I love that feature, but i also need a GUI :frowning:

What experiences did you make?
Which UIs are you Using?
What solutions are you using for control on iPhone/iPad?

Habpanel is good for anything static. Think of an actual wall panel/tablet.
Basic UI: best “old” ui for mobile devices.

You are missing the best mobile UI in your list though - the new OH3 main UI :slight_smile:

check out: https://demo.openhab.org/

1 Like