NEWBIE MQTT Config Help Needed

Please note, I have little to no experience in coding/programming.

I am at my wits end with trying to configure MQTT. I’ve read and been trying for the past week to no avail, and I think I’m suffering from information overload as there is so much content out there. I think it’s time to reach out for help

My objective is pretty simple at this stage: I’m trying to automate a few lights home. Been using the Phillips Hue system for years on a few lights, but I’m trying to take it one step further to smart switches.

I have openhabian running on a RPi3B+, with the embedded MQTT broker configured and “running”. Trying to set up MQTT on a Gosund Smart WIFI Switch that has been flashed with Tasmota.
Was following this guide (https://www.openhab.org/blog/2018-12-16-mqtt-arrives-in-the-modern-openhab-2-x-architecture.html) for the MQTT config but I’m not getting any response from the switch.

I’m able to subscribe to topics via MQTTfx on my Mac and when I toggle the switch, either manually or via the Sonoff web UI I am seeing the changes of state.

• Platform information:

• Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3B+
  • Issue of the topic: MQTT Configuration Nightmare?

PS: Yesterday I did a fresh installation of openhabian, and I’m open to doing it again and starting from the very beginning to get this working.

Can you please load your configs

Which configs do you need? .items and mqtt?

Yes your Items and mqtt.
have you checked your log for errors ?

.items file

Group Home “home” [“Building”]

Group OU “Outside” (Home) [“Outdoor”]
Group GF “Ground Floor” (Home) [“GroundFloor”]
Group FF “First Floor” (Home) [“FirstFloor”]

Group OU_FrontYard “Front Yard” (Home, OU) [“Garden”]
Group OU_Driveway “Driveway” (Home, OU) [“Outdoor”]
Group OU_Garage “Garage” (Home, OU) [“Garage”]
Group GF_LivingRoom “Living Room” (Home, GF) [“LivingRoom”]
Group GF_Kitchen “Kitchen” (Home, GF) [“Kitchen”]
Group GF_Dining “Dining” (Home, GF) [“Room”]