Newbie Question about Insteon Binding

Hi guys,

This is my first post so I’m sorry if this is a dumb question. I am trying to bind my insteon devices to openhab2. I am confused as to if I need a PLM for this to work. I currently only have the Insteon Hub2 2245-222. I read in the documentation that it could be done with the PLM or just the hub. I just want to make sure if I need to get a PLM to be able to bind my insteon devices. Any help with this would be a great help. Thank you!

The hub is all you need. It works with the binding I use it.

Do you have an example of how you got this set up? Sorry for the dumb questions. I am new to this. But this is exciting news that I don’t need to go buy a PLM now! Thank you for your help!

Yes I can post my files later when at laptop.

No stupid questions.

I would encourage you in the mean time have a look at the binding docs again a re-read. But here is some info to get you pointed in right direction.

1. Get the user name am done password from bottom of you hub.
  2. Get the IP address of you hub.
  3. When you install the binding you will see an insteon plm CFg file in the services directory. Put the username ip and password here in line that says for hub uncomment.

Restart openHAB and watch the logs it should say connecting with hub.

After you get this far have to start pairing the devices and setup items after.

Ok i cound the insteonplm.cfg file. I uncommented the part that says “to connect to insteon Hub2” and put in the following.

-port_0=/hub2/username:Password@myinsteonhub.IPADDRESS:25105,poll_time=1000

I don’t think thats right.

Here is the line from my file:

port_0=/hub2/userhere:passwordhere@192.168.1.187:25105,poll_time=750

Thats all it takes.

This is what items need to look like:

Dimmer Ins_Plug1 "TV Lamp  [%s %%]" (gBlackLamp,gIns_SwitchSW,gAll_LightsSW,gLiving_Room) [ "Lighting" ]  {insteonplm="35.4E.C4:F00.00.19#dimmer"}

so it looks it worked but then i get a bunch of errors saying the following.