NOOB: Setup ZWave network on Pine64 OH2

Hi All,

I’ve bought the Pine64 2GB and Z Wave module (EU version) to automate my home using OpenHAB.

As I am a total NOOB at this, I decided to first create a small Z Wave network using 2 Domitech Z Wave smart LED light bulbs only.
I immediately got stuck:

• I’ve installed OpenHAB on my Pine64.
  • In Paper UI on Configureation->Things page, I see the Z Wave Serial Controller: ‘online’ (connected to /dev/ttyS2).
  • I then try to get the controller to get into discovery mode by pressing the big ‘+’, select Zwave binding.
  • For 30 seconds it shows a rotating arrow, within that time I put one bulb in discovery mode.
  • The bulb does not get ‘discovered’.

Am I doing something wrong?
Is there any way to tell if the Z Wave device is really in discovery mode?

Need help here…

For zwave I highly recommend using Habmin over PaperUI. It is written by the same person who implements the binding and it had a ton more features for configuring and managing your zwave network.

Also tried with habmin, but same result.
I found the log file, even found how to create the log in debug mode.
In the log (both, through paper ui and habmin) I see that it should be in discovery. But I see no difference in if I just enter discovery or when I enter discovery and try to pair up with the bulb.
In habmin I see that I can enter some parameters, but when I do and save, next time I check it’s back to original.

So I guess that it’s one of the following:

• pine64 z wave module not properly integrated (doubt that as Kai published the image I am using)
  • pine64 z wave module nor properly configured (could be, as I don’t have any experience with it)
  • pine64 z wave module not working (could also be, it’s new but have never seen it working, don’t know how to check)
  • bulbs not working (less likely as I have 2 that have same behavior, both new, fresh out of box, also here, do not know how to check)