Number Item Offset in state description?

Does anyone know of a way that I could offset a item in the state description metadata or if it’s even possible? I know I could just use 2 items and a rule just wanted to see if their was another way.

You could use a profile with transformation if this item is linked to a channel. The script transformation comes to mind which lets you do any calculation you desire.

So I already have the calculation in the rule dsl working. I’m struggling to understand how to use the new transformation menu in openhab4. I’ve never used transformations before. How would you use the script transformation in the metadata of the item?

Are you using text based items in .items file or UI?

With .items file

Number MyNumberItem { channel="xxxx" [profile="transform:DSL", toItemScript="| Double.valueOf(input) - 100" ] }

For example.

If it’s an item with dimension, then use QuantityType.valueOf

Ui configuration for pretty much everything is the only way to use the transformation properly through .items file?

Do you really only want to see the offset but not have that offset applied to the Item’s state? If so you can use a transform on the Item’s State Description.

If you want the Item’s actual state to include the offset, @JimT’s approach using a profile is the best one.

Many transformations require a separate configuration.

For example, MAP requires a table with key=value pairs that maps a given state to the desired value.

If you have a complicated script based transformation, you can define it there as well.

Note, this last transformation really isn’t necessary. It’s better to use a Number:Time Item and use the State Description Pattern to transform it to HH:MM:SS.

To use these go to the Link between an Item and a Channel, the Item’s State Description, or anywhere else a transformation is supported and if you cannot simply select it like so: