OH2: Which interface allows me to do what I could in OH1

I eventually got myself to install OH2 on a test Pi…

I will comment on the installation in a separate post later… however, I can say kudos to those who developed the scripted install; very nice, very impressive! It works!

So, I got to the state where I select the initial package, and got stuck.
I am uncertain where to go from here as existing OH user. Yes, I selected EXPERT… but…

The question is – and I may not have seen all the documentation… given that I have some OH1 experience, which interface or mode to I chose in order to work with the minimum interface set to manage all of the functions of OH2?

I wanted to ask this question, because – as a regular on the forum – I see all these posts: can’t do this here and can’t do this there; and need to do this in a config file, because the UI can’t do this yet, etc.
… it has confused me to the point, that I do not know where to go next in order to avoid those pitfalls.

Given that I want to ‘transfer’ my OH1 config to OH2 as easy and as straight forward as possible, and use either one ‘tool’ or method to do all the config of OH2, what should I do next to get there.

I am not even sure, whether OH2 is fully functional to the point that one tool can be used OR is that even the goal, and I need to use say 3 tools/methods to configure it?

Also, do I need a different Designer version? Or is config done differently now?

Any hints pointers appreciated.

[edit – for a central point of additional questions]

I have to add that I do use the odd binding, no wireless, all Ethernet and MQTT based sensors and actuators (based on the Arduino platform); no cloud, etc.

So is there – as part of OH2 – one tool to configure all OH2 functionality, if possible regardless of UI being used?

1 Like

Hi Max,