OH2 Z-Wave S2 Security and Z-Wave network information

Hi all,

I am an engineering student in electronics/ICT working on his master thesis regarding a Wireless Sensor and Actuator Network (WSAN). I chose to work with OpenHAB(OpenHABian v1.4.1) installed on a Raspberry Pi 3. Actually I am running 3 instances of OpenHAB and by connecting them in the cloud via VPN connections I am able to create a simulated web platform of a hotel environment. My goal was to scale-up Z-Wave from home automation to building automation.

Next Monday (the 11th of June) I have to hand in my thesis and I still have two unresolved topics. I am posting them here and hoping that there would be a few people who could help me out.

1. Z-Wave now(April 2017) provides S2 security meaning that there are three network classes namely Access Control class, Authenticated class and Unauthenticated class. Sigma Design mentions that device authentication is possible by adding an additional verification step in the including process. In this process the installer should actually verify that it is the correct node by scanning the device’s QR code or submitting the first 16 bytes of the ECDH public key. Is this already implemented in the Z-Wave binding and if so, how?

2. In order to evaluate the scalability of Z-Wave, my professors would like the see some Packet Delivery Ratio, RSSI and delay numbers. Is it possible to gather such information in OpenHAB? Academic people always love graphs and numbers so it would be a very nice addition to my conclusion.

I do not have much time left so therefore I hope you do not mind me tagging you @chris and @rlkoshak.

All help is highly appreciated and I could also publish my master thesis if people are interested in my work.

Thanks in advance,
Mathias

Unfortunately, I have pretty much no expertise in zwave. As Chris will tell you, more than half the time when I try to help I end up giving incorrect information.