OH3 Help with "OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space" needed

Hi all,

I installed a OH3 on Openhabian, after adding some Things, Bindings and Rules I experience “java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space”-errors every 6-7h, the process is unresponsive at this point.
Unfortunately I am not experienced enough to locate the leak in OpenHAB and need some help of you tracing down the problem.

Here is a screenshot of the heap analyser.

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: RasPi 4, 4GB Ram
    • Java Runtime Environment: zulu11.43.88-ca-jdk11.0.9-linux_aarch32hf
    • openHAB version: Openhab 3.0.0.M4 (Build)

I also have a lot of warnings like this:
2020-12-01 01:38:24.905 [WARN ] [ab.core.internal.events.EventHandler] - Dispatching event to subscriber ‘org.openhab.core.internal.items.ItemUpdater@a99dc6’ takes more than 5000ms.

Thank you!

1 Like

Since I can only insert one screenshot per post, here is the second:

Please post your rules as I suspect things are wrong there.

Or try to disable all rules and enable one by one day after day

I found the source of the memory overflow. The rule checks the state of my washing machine and runs every minute. It just consists of some if cases, average calculations (over 5-10 numbers) and a bit of casting.
How can it be that this simple script causes an OutOfMemoryError?
The last “if” with the telegram command is never executed since the state is not reached, so it has to be in the first if cases.

triggers:
  - id: "1"
    configuration:
      cronExpression: 0 * * * * ? *
    type: timer.GenericCronTrigger
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      type: application/vnd.openhab.dsl.rule
      script: >-
        if (WaschmaschineStatus.state.toString == "NULL" && (WaschmaschinenPlug_Strom.averageSince(now.minusMinutes(5)) as Number)<0.05){
          WaschmaschineStatus.sendCommand("INAKTIV")