OH3 Make Telegram Bot chat with me

• Platform information:

• Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4
    • Java Runtime Environment: openjdk version “11.0.9”
    • openHAB version: 3.0.0
  • Issue of the topic:

What I have: A TelegramBot Binding

What I want it to do: Chat with me

As a starting point I would like my TelegramBot to answer me, if I send it “hello”. It should answer “Hello, how are you?”

• Please post configurations (if applicable):
    • Items configuration related to the issue

Here’s my items configuration:

• Rules code related to the issue

As a beginner, I am assuming, that my problem can/should be solved as a rule. So here is what I tried:

The code for this rule looks as follows:

triggers:
  - id: "1"
    configuration:
      itemName: TelegramBotPatrick_LastMessageText
      command: Hello
    type: core.ItemCommandTrigger
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      type: application/vnd.openhab.dsl.rule
      script: >-2
           val telegramAction = getActions("telegram","telegram:telegramBot:2999fd19f4")
           telegramAction.sendTelegram(460213524L, "what ever you want to send") 
    type: script.ScriptAction

That is my approach, which is currently not working. The Telegram Bot is not answering at all.

Is a rule the right tool here? Can I simply add the send command as an Action or do I need an additional script, which is executed by the Trigger?

1 Like

Yes but you should consider using text files whenever the rule contents gets more complicated then a couple of lines. Please don’t take snapshots but copy/type the code.

That’s exactly what you specified: if you send “Hello”, the bot answers with a static string.
So it IS working, isn’t it.

1 Like

No, it is not, because it is NOT responding at all.

Screen shots are basically unreadable and showing just the list of Items is rarely going to be sufficient.