OH3: Shelly Bindings vs MQTT (Mosquitto vs embedded MQTT)

This is my first time using openHAB and also the first time that I am using any smarthome automation devices and software at all.

I got myself some Shelly 2.5s which are configured as roller shutters.
Right now I am reading around, creating+testing some configs and trying to understand everything.

One big decision I will have to make now (I guess) is Shelly Bindings vs MQTT.
1. Based on your experience, which one should I go with?

I already read that MQTT is much faster in terms of reaction times.
2. But apart from that which of the two bindings will give me the most information and control capabilities for my Shellys?

What I was also asking myself…
3. Should I use an external MQTT broker (f.e. Mosquitto) or the one that comes with OH3?
Which one is more future proof / more reliable?

4. If I am going to use the external MQTT broker: Can I install and run it on the same host my openHAB install runs on?

I hope you guys can answer my 4 questions. :+1:

I have tried both, but converted everything to the binding.
when I got my first Shellies, there was no binding, so MQTT was the only choice.
The biggest drawback ist the lack of co-existence of MQTT and the Shelly cloud.

The speed is more or less neglectible in the meantime after Shelly improved the CoAP implementiation a lot. The binding uses CoAP preferably.
With the binding, I have all I need.
MQTT might give you some more details.

There is no more embedded MQTT broker bundled with OH3 anymore. I recommend to use mosquitto which can be easily installed through openhabian-config.

Yes, no problem unless you run a very weak system.

3 Likes

A broker comes with OH3? I did not know that.
I know the one with OH2 had been abandoned to everybody moved to mosquitto. That is about all I know about MQTT & OH.

To clarify: no, it does not, as @Vogelrain said.

From the release notes: