Openhab 2 Squeezebox Text to speech?

Hi. Im fairly new to openhab so i was wondering how to get tts working. I know what there is tts you can download from the paper ui but i cant find any documentation on how to use it. I also know that there is an openhab 1 action for squeezebox to send voice to them but i cant find the action bundle or documentation for this in openhab 2. Anyone here knows how to configure it? the goal is for it to say goodmorning and read the time date and temperature and greet me when i get home. For now that is. Thanks in advance

I’ve been looking into this and it seems the OH2 Squeezebox binding currently has no channel defined to use TTS.

We could try to reach out to the binding developer and ask him if an update is foreseen.

@snoekieboe if you could make contact, id be very interested!

Already sent digital dan a PM :slight_smile:

2 Likes

He is very busy with other important stuff right now :slight_smile:
I would suggest you enter a feature request at https://github.com/openhab/openhab2-addons/issues and I will meanwhile make sure to add some documentation on all the new TTS features and how to implement it in bindings.

Thank you very much @Kai .Keep up the great work, there is huge potential in the work you do. Looking forward

Haha, thanks, but I read this as “currently it is completely unusable” :wink:

@Kai Then i have something to look forward to :slight_smile:

Hi, yes the port to OH2 did not include the TTS functionality. While I have a lot of other things on my plate I would be happy to point others in the right direction. It should not be difficult to implement this feature as the OH1 code shows how this could be done. If someone does pick this up, let others know so we don’t have multiple versions being worked on!