openHAB 3, Move from 2.5, Semantic Model, Equipment from Thing with existing items/channels?

I have been using openHAB for quite a few years now, and am slowly trying to “move over to” / use the new semantic model in OH3. I have a question regarding “Adding equipment from things”.

I have many things with many already existing items (some things were created in the UI, some via config files, some items in those things were created using config files, some in the UI).

When I am in the “Model” configuration, and want to add an equipment from a thing, it looks like the existing channels/items cannot be used. What I did so far was removing/deleting the “old” items and then creating them fresh when adding the equipment. Is that the correct way? Or is there a way that I haven’t found to use the existing linked items/channels?

It’s not necessarily correct nor incorrect. I find it to be the fastest and easiest way to do it though, especially if you have Items in .items files.

The model is created through the Item definition, namely Group membership and tags. If you have Items defined in .items files, that means you need to change the Item’s tags and Group membership yourself manually in the .items file. You can do nothing to these Items through the UI.

1 Like

I’m still not sure if I’m doing things “correctly” or better if I have understood correctly.

I do home some items in files, but I also have some new items for things that were set up in the UI, but before I started using the semantic model.

For example, I have an IKEA zigbee lightbulb, with a dimmer item attached to the dimmer channel of the lightbulb thing. Now, when I want to add the lightbulb to my model, I go to the location where that device/equipment group is supposed to be added to, I select “Add equipment from thing” and then I search for the existing thing.