openHAB 3 time is two hours behind

Hello,
I have a problem with the time in openHAB that I don’t understand.

The system time of the Raspi is correct.
grafik

But not the time of the openHAB installation.
grafik

openHAB is two hours behind … but why?
All regional settings are set correctly.
It struck me when I wanted to send my wake-up time to openHAB and the time was always two hours behind.
grafik

Does anyone have any idea what’s going on or is that a bug?

Kind regards

Check your Java locale/timezone

Thanks for your quick answer, but I don’t think that really helps me. It’s about Docker. I had already read the thread. I installed OH through the repository and Zulu Java according to instructions.
Unfortunately, I have absolutely no idea about Java because I’m not a developer.
:frowning:

I have had the same problem with wrong time in logs.
I enabled the NTP via openhabian-config and everything was fine.
Maybe this helps you, too.

Hello Dirk,
i have no openhabian config, i installed OH over the repository.
But I have now found out that OH uses UTC time and not the local. But that cannot be changed. Just looks like a bug to me.
I don’t know what i can do to fix the time.

I can set any time zone but OH always uses UTC.

In OH 2.5 there was a possibility to edit the NTP server in the network settings in OH 3 but this option is no longer available.

Have you checked in the MAIN UI in settings → regional settings that te time zone is set correctly?

Yes, I already set that during setup, but OH3 just doesn’t care about the time zone.
It doesn’t matter which time zone I set … OH always uses UTC time.

Login to the karaf console and execute

env |grep user.timezone

which timezone is shown there ?

grafik

When I build a server I run these commands to double check the time is correct before I install OH:

echo Change the time zone
dpkg-reconfigure tzdata
echo Change locale to Australia
dpkg-reconfigure locales
update-locale en_AU.UTF-8
locale-gen en_AU.UTF-8