OpenHAB + Alarmdecoder (USB) - totally stuck

VMWare 6.7.0 u3 running on HP DL380 G7 - AD2USB attached and passed through to VM, works.
Ubuntu Focal
Zulu 11
OH 3.0.1

I’m new to OH. Trying to replace an old Vera3 with this, if I can get this to work. My issue is with Alarmdecoder. I have the USB version, and it works perfectly (AFAICT) in my setup - from a hardware perspective. I have the alarmdecoder binding installed, I created a keypad thing, and a keypad item from the “message” channel, and I can see the panel’s output in realtime - zone faults, etc.

I have 6 hard-wired zones (1-6), and a number of RF zones. My goal is to create each zone in OH and be able to see them fault and “un-fault” in realtime as items (or things, w/e is correct), so I can create rules surrounding those events.

If someone could please clue me in to how to accomplish this, I’d be very grateful. I’m not sure if my AD2USB needs a certain config to make this work, or if this whole thing is accomplished in OH. Any info would be much appreciated.

Thanks all!!

Hi! Welcome to the openHAB forum! In general you should be able to do everything you want using only configuration in OH, but there are sometimes exceptions. If you already have the bridge and a keypad thing configured and working, that is half the battle. I would suggest using auto-discovery to configure your zone and rfzone things as described in the docs. As you fault/unfault your various zones, the things for them should show up in openHAB’s inbox. Then you can just accept them and attach items to whatever channels you are interested in. In particular this will probably be the contact channel on zone things and the loop1-loop4 channels on rfzone things. You can also get information on the state of various zones by just looking at keypad or LRR messages, but that may be less straightforward.