openHAB and local control

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Intel Q6600/8GB/Multiple TB
    • Java Runtime Environment: latest 1.8.0_191-b12
    • openHAB version: 2.4
  • Issue of the topic: requesting guidance for having primary functionality be local control of devices in the home

I have been using X-10 devices in my home for many years. Now, I am looking at updating some things and taking advantage of features that will integrate with cloud services. However, after investing money and time into setting up SmartThings and a Philips Hue bridge and getting my current X-10 devices to work and suffering from a Samsung SmartThings outage and delays in lights coming on or off, I am looking into alternatives that will provide reliable local control and still allow access to advanced capabilities that do rely on the cloud, such as IFTTT, Google Assistant, etc.

I am currently in the window of time where I could take everything back that I have spent in the last few weeks on the Philips Hue and SmartThings hubs, bridges, sensors, light bulbs, etc, if needed.

I would like to know, though, if I can use the Philips Hue bridge to provide local control of the Philips Hue Zigbee devices and other Zigbee devices, such as motion detectors and buttons from Samsung SmartThings. Currently, I do not have any Z-Wave devices, but would look at those for possibly replacing X-10 devices in the future.

With my current devices all being Philips Hue light bulbs and motion sensors, Samsung SmartThings motion sensors and buttons, and X-10 devices, can I do all of this with local control and openHAB and do it reliably? If so, I will continue down this path of learning openHAB and will likely take back the SmartThings hub.

1 Like

Based on the docs for the Hue binding it only supports Hue lighting devices. I don’t think you can use the Hue Bridge as a generic Zigbee coordinator.