Openhab Designer (Eclipse) hangs while editing rules

Hi All

I’ve been using OpenHAB for a few years now. More lately I’ve polished my system to the point where lights, air conditioning, alarm system, garage door, etc are automated and fed with a host of sensors all around the house. It’s quite a complex setup between different vendors and my own home-cooked things.

For the last year or so, as my rules became more complex, the Designer app started hanging regularly when editing said rules. Currently these hangs last about 20-30 seconds. After doing some googling I tried numerous things such as editing the memory allocation to eclipse, using more rule files, etc, but none worked for me.

However, I eventually realised that if I interact with OpenHAB designer solely with the keyboard (also not using PgUp/PgDn) the designer does not freeze! Only when I use the mouse and click between sections of the rule file, or copy/paste with the mouse will it hang. When I copy/paste using the keyboard only it works flawlessly. Has anyone else experienced this? any suggestions perhaps?

I’ve experienced this with OpenHAB Designer 1.6.2 and 1.7.1

thanks

regards,
Tertius

Hi Tertius

Yes, I’ve had a similar experience but for me the designer hung for several minutes before I used the Taskmanager to kill it. This has made things very bad, especially because I use it mostly to find syntay errors in my rules and normally use an external editor.

What helped in my case is to put the rule coding into scripts (where possible) and do only the callScript function within the rules. It seems that this works a little bit better, at least now I can use the designer again.

Regards
Dieter

Thanks for the info Dieter

For interest sake, is it also smooth sailing for you when only using the keyboard? If so, it might point to a bug in the OH Designer’s code…?

same here.
Especially under windows, designer is hardly working.