openHAB Integration Network Architecture Best Practices

Hi openHAB Community,
Our home is “network segmented” (i.e.: have separate subnets/VLANs for Guest, Multimedia, Kids, etc.) with a firewall that allows for fine-grained network control across different subnets/vlans. As I’m just getting started with the home automation, I was thinking of creating another subnet for home automation related devices. Although network communication across different subnets (including the newly created subnet for home automation related devices) is not an issue, I am wondering how the Integration & Discovery of Home Automation devices across the network would work. For example, our Alexa is on the Multimedia subnet and so is the new/temporary installation of openHAB. Ideally, I would like to put the openHAB installation & all home automation devices on its own network (e.g: HA subnet). If I do that then how would openHAB be able to Discover devices on the multimedia subnet (eg: TV, Alexa, etc.)?

Are there any network architectural diagrams, best practices for designing home automation? If not, does anyone have a similar implementation that allows for segmented network? Any info, docs, links would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
-rsa

This sounds more like a general networking question than something specific to openHAB or home automation. Discovery happens through various APIs and protocols so the network configuration answers would vary accordingly. Do you have a question about how to bridge a specific protocol across subnets?

You might want to listen to or read the transcript of Security Now! podcast #545 titled “Three Dumb Routers”. https://www.grc.com/securitynow.htm

Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte talk about how to prevent an infection of an IOT device could spread to the rest of your network and how he recommends that you prevent this.

Thanks Steve for your response.