openHab log and events stopped working / java.lang.NullPointerException

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3b+ Processor: BCM2835; Linux 4.19.50-v7+ armv7l
    • Java Runtime Environment: (build 11.0.8+10-post-Raspbian-1deb10u1); Version 11.0.8" 2020-07-14
    • openHAB version: 2.5.9 Release Build

Dear community,

My /var/log/openhab2/openhab.log and /var/log/openhab2/events.log suddenly stopped working on 02.12.2020 04:50:08am as you can see in my screenshot for the logs.

Several reboots of the Pi and restarts of openHab with cleaning the beforehand cache didnā€™t change the situation. The SD card donā€™t seem to be failing, everything else is just running fine.

Checking the log setup in the Karaf console showed me a ā€œjava.lang.NullPointerExceptionā€ for every log command. For e.g.

openhab> log:display
Error executing command: java.lang.NullPointerException

I am an absolute beginner, can someone help me with this?

Thanks and best regards,
Markus

How do you know? Did you try with a different known good card?

Hi Bruce, good question. I can backup my current card with pi-clone in the next days to verify this in detail.

Currently I am not assuming that the card is failing because everything else is just running fine, I would expect way more strange behaviors instead of just stopping both logs.

Is there any way I can restart the logging from scratch without setting up openHab again from the beginning? For e.g. removing both the logfiles etc.?

Has the filesystem run out of space?

Filesystem in terms of space looks good to me I guess:

1 Like

I was able to investigate a but further, maybe someone can help with the debug logs? I used openhab-cli start --debug to find something, this came out after logging out:

openhab> logout
org.ops4j.pax.logging.pax-logging-api [log4j2] ERROR : Unable to write to stream /var/log/openhab2/openhab.log for appender LOGFILE Ignored FQCN: org.apache.logging.log4j.spi.AbstractLogger