OpenHAB malfunction with lots of OutOfMemory Errors

Hi,

I have been using OpenHAB for several years successfully and not installed any new version or plugins recently. In the past week, I have been experiencing a lot of different strange problems with my OpenHAB installation, e.g.

• HABPanel not showing all icons and intermediately showing “Trying to connect” errors
  • Some rules not being executed anymore
  • some items not being updated anymore

while the rest of OpenHAB is still running.

When looking into the logs, I can see a lot of different exceptions there frequently, with different stacktraces, but all showing OutOfMemory errors.

When I execute “free -m” on the machine OpenHAB and HabPanel run on, I see the following memory information:

total used free shared buff/cache available

Mem: 976 797 49 3 130 126
Swap: 99 99 0

I assume this is not a normal memory consumption by OpenHAB, correct?

I can see that the vast majority is used by the java process:

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
567 openhab 20 0 2055176 559780 0 S 8.9 56.0 380:38.43 java

I am running OpenHAB version 2.5.1 on a RasperryPi (OpenHABian).

Any ideas how this could be fixed?

Thanks a lot, Torsten

What bindings are you using? If Amazon Control then you will need to install the updated jar file. See link below:

Yes, I am using the Amazon Echon Control binding. I have now deactivated it for now and the out of memory problem is gone. Thank you!

I understand that currently there is no version of the Amazon binding available from an official OpenHAB source that fixes the problem, right?