openHAB on Ubuntu PC ... what about radios?

I’ve got an htpc running Ubuntu and was wondering if using it to run openHAB was a good option. The only direct networking ability it has is wired ethernet (unless I were to broadcast through the router).

I’m a home automation noob and was wondering if I could pick up a card that would support zigbee, bluetooth, wifi, etc and allow me to start playing with the link, hue to start, then alarms, etc.

I would be interested in connecting sensors and I’ve read arduino is good an an interface for that.

Is there a (PCIe) card that allows zigbee? And is this the best way to get started?

One comment I can make is that Ubuntu is running a very old version of the Bluetooth stack and it won’t be compatible with OH bluetooth (until they upgrade of course, but given it’s a few years out of date, I don’t think I’d hold your breath :frowning:).

ZigBee, Z-Wave etc are normally USB sticks, so (generally) will be compatible.

I found a z-wave usb key here on amazon:

Is there anything that I should be looking for in particular? (The price starts to mount if you’re buying the wrong things)

And I didn’t see (on amazon) a straightforward zigbee usb stick. There were a couple items that looked like they might be for the ‘enthusiast’ … amongst whom I count myself, but only in intent and desire, not yet knowledge. Can anyone point to an appropriate zigbee stick?

If I were to buy a raspberry pi or one of the other options suggested in the getting started docs would I be getting usb sticks too? And do you need a usb stick for each protocol then?

If you want to interact with all of those protocols it might be cheaper to get a Vera and use the MiOS Binding. In this configuration the Vera communicates with your devices and OH communicates with the Vera. And in some cases the ONLY way to interact with them from OH is through an external hub, e.g. Hue.