Openhab v3 extending binding behaviour with rules/ Easily porting scripts/rules to bindings

I’ve never written a binding before so am probably talking from ignorance. Most of my rules are designed to work around binding changing their behaviour. Or alternatively trying to perform the function of bindings using items/rules in conjunction with execommand and javascript/python scripts.

I know the next version of openhab will put the ngre in centre place. So I was wondering if it was possible or there was much thought placed on having a consistent language/rules system across binding and rules.

A good example is say the milight binding. Just fundamentally the way it works if you want to turn the lights off, first you need to send a command to select the light, which turns them on before you send the off command. The mighlight lights are quite unreliable, so say you turn the lights off, you have to send that command twice with a delay, or twice over two different bridges. But obviously if things work perfectly they will turn off, then to max brightness and then off again. It would be great if a rule I could override this behaviour. So say I want smooth dimming that’s not implemented in the binding there is no need to select the lights for every command, I select the the device and just need to send the next command. I don’t think it’s reasonable to expect the binding author to add lots of code to their binding to cover this edge case that only I care about. So if I could override certain function that would be great.

The other point is that since the items/rules are completely different to how I would write a binding I kind of have to start from scratch can can’t use any of the rules/items I written. If bindings/items/rules shares a conman language that would make it much easier.

1 Like