OpenHAB version in sitemap?

I’m new to openHAB and I’m wondering if there is a way to display the openhab version number (e.g., v1.8.3) in the web (via sitemap)? Is there an item or something similar? I don’t always know what version I’m running and it would be nice if it was displayed at the bottom of the website (in addition to the © opyright notice), but if not, just having an Item that I can use as a Text would be helpful.

Is there some way to do this?

There is no way I know of to do this.

That’s actually a good idea. I don’t know an “official” way either. What you can do: you can use the exec binding to query the version of the installed package. That however might depend on your kind of setup. OH1 through apt? what does “dpkg – list | grep openhab” tell you?

Thom,

My installation is on OSX and so not through dpkg. I could probably just come up with a grep against openhab.log to pull the version number from that file. I haven’t used the exec binding yet, but will take a look and see what I can do.

Thx

In OH 1.x you are looking for this line:

openHAB runtime has been started (v1.8.3).

I see nothing in the OH 2 logs indicating the version. You could ssh to the Karaf console and pull the version number from there.

Not the most elegant solution but that gets the job done:

OHVERSION=`awk '/Build/ {print $4}' /usr/share/openhab2/runtime/karaf/etc/branding.properties`

Hello
I am interested in showing the version as well in my Overview page
I looked in the SystemInfo binding but it doesn’t have the version # available as a channel
Was wondering if there is another binding I am missing
Thanks

This is a six year old thread. A lot has changed in that to the systeminfo binding in that time. I know of no other binding available.