Openhab Web services stops and needs manual restarting

I have installed Openhab recently and it worked well for a couple of days then started to play up. It seemed like it would hang and I needed to restart to get it back to to work. Then I read somewhere about clearing cache. I did that and since then the web services goes down regularly. I then need to run this command to bring the web services back online so I can access via the web.

sudo openhab-cli start

Even the I can’t access via web, I can still SSH into the PI and I can access all files through network and Visual Studio but the.

Also, the command line seems to change from Openhabian to Openhab after I run the command as well. See screenshot attached. Not sure what that means.

Another thing to note, I installed Openhab on a Micros SD card then moved system root a USB drive through “37 | Move Root To USB” feature in Config.

Clearly, I am new to this so any help would be highly appreciated.

On the pi you need to use the command sudo systemctl start openhab. OpenHAB will start automatically after a reboot.

The command you are using is not starting it as a service it is starting it in a separate process that is why you see the window change to openHAB. You are getting into the openHAB console vs the Linux console.

Do this reboot the pi then after a few mins once the web ui is running, ssh into the pi and run sudo systemctl status openhab2 make sure openHAB is running.

The next time you experience the web service stop you can log in and run the status command if it’s not running you can then review the logs and try to restart.

Thanks @Thedannymullen

Just so I get the steps right, are you suggesting, I run “sudo systemctl start openhab” after I reboot the PI? Will this set Openhab to start on startup?

And this command "“sudo systemctl status openhab2"” to check the status of openhab web service whether it’s running or not?