openHAB with Synology DiskStation - a starting point

Hi guys!

I am a newbie to openHAB and also to home automation in general. I was trying to find a good starting point for my requirements but could not find a proper article on the net to help me. So I decided to post a topic here hoping someone can assist me a little bit or guide me to some existing articles/posts.

But maybe I should start to explain you my initial situation first:
I will soon start moving into a new place (house, actually) and I am already a happy owner of the Synology DiskStation DS920+. Currently, I only use my DiskStation to store personal backups, documents and photos/videos, etc., which is quite underchallenging the hardware (except for the storage, of course). So I was googling a lot what hardware and software is required to find a way to upgrade my future space to be a smart home. That’s how I came across openHAB, which sounds just fantastic with all its flexibility, compatibility and seemingly endless possibilities and also because I can just reuse my existing DiskStation hardware as a very powerful and reliable command center for it. Now I just read through the introduction of openHAB and I can understand the basic concept and how it works in general. Also I checked out the installation guide for the Synology DiskStation, which helped me understand how to get the openHAB working on my DS920+. So far, so good.

Now the hassle starts… There is plenty hardware (wired/wireless), many protocols (Z-Wave, ZigBee, enocean, …) and all with different integration and security approaches. Please god help me! :smiley: