OpenHAB2 and Homematic / homegear: how to connect?

Hi all,
I am new to OpenHAB and try to get my (also new) Homematic components into it. I am stuck now and don’t know where I could change anything to get it working.

What is working right now:

1. HMCFGUSB2 is recognized by hmland
  2. homegear can successfully talk to hmland
  3. using homegear I paired HMCFGUSB2 with HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU and in the log I can see it receives messages, I can also query the values using homegear on the command line
  4. when I open the homegear interface in the browser on port 2001 the list shows the successful connection of HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU
  5. OpenHAB2 beta 3 is up and running, I was able to add astro and AVM Fritz bindings as well as the Homematic binding (all three are shown on Paper UI under configuration > bindings

But Homematic binding does not communicate with homegear, no things are discovered. My FritzBox was successfully added for example, so I assume OH2 is working in general and it must be something with the Homematic binding. This is the config for the binding stored in conf/services/homematic.cfg (I removed the comments just for this posting to keep it short)

############################## Homematic Binding ##############################
homematic:host=192.168.17.104
homematic:callback.host=192.168.17.104
homematic:callback.port=2001
# homematic:alive.interval=
# homematic:reconnect.interval=
# homematic:homematicIP.enabled=

The IP address is from the the same systems which runs hmland, homegear and OH2. Using netstat -peanut |grep homegear it get the following:

# netstat -peanut |grep home
tcp        0      0 192.168.17.104:7373     0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      105        34895050    32730/homegear
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:2001            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      105        34895051    32730/homegear
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:2002            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      105        34895055    32730/homegear