openHAB2, KNX dimmer config

Hi

I am VERY new to openHAB so please be gentil :slight_smile:

I have a working openHAB 2.1.0 installation with the KNX binding and can turn my lights on and off. What I would now like to do is dim the lights - I think I understand the way to do it but cannot understand what my electricians have done so I have just tried everything and nothing is working - every time I have a dimmer line in my items file openHAB does not load the file.

I have the following information from the Electrition (I am using the kitchen light as an example):

Switch (Schalten) -> 1/1/1 value 1 bit
Dim (Dimmen) -> 1/2/1 value 4 bits
Return code switch (RĂĽckmeldungen Schalten) -> 1/3/1 value 1 bit
Return value (RĂĽckmeldung Wert) -> 1/4/1 value 1 Byte

The words in brackets are the German descriptions that I have in the documentation. Unfortunately the Electrition has gone out of business so I cannot contact them to ask what they have done.

Other than these values I do not have any documentation.

The examples in the documentation use percentages, I do not know how to add this to my command :slight_smile:

Could somebody maybe create the correct Dimmer line for me?

Thank you in advance
ursus

Hey Ursus,

try this one here in your items file (assuming knx is configure). I am missing an absolute dim-value.

Dimmer Licht_Kueche "Licht KĂĽche" {autoupdate="true", knx="1/1/1+<1/3/1,1/2/1,<1/4/1"}

Kindly Björn

Hi Björn,

thank you very much - that has solved part of my problem :o)

I am not quite sure what you mean by “I am missing an absolute dim-value” - where could I find the value for you and what does it do?

I now have a dimmer and that actually dims the lights - yay! The dimmer and the switch are somehow at odds with one another now though. I can dim the lights and then turn them off with the switch, if I turn them off with the dimmer (by going all the way to the left) I cannot turn them on using the switch anymore - odd.