OpenHAB2, MQTT, and Items All On One Hardware?

Hi,

I’m a rank beginner to OpenHAB2, and I’ve spent some time browsing through the documentation without finding the answer yet. I already know that OpehHAB2 and Mosquitto can be installed on a Raspberry Pi Zero W, but can that Pi Zero also be used as the “Item” in OpenHAB2? Basically the entire automation project (it’s rather simple) would be run on one Raspberry Pi Zero W ultimately using a cell phone as the control panel.

I have a use in mind for this, and in the interest of conserving power I’d like to run all of this on a single piece of hardware if that’s possible.

Thanks!

If your asking about the ability to utilize the GPIO pins of the Pi, then yes.

Yeah, I think that’s what I was asking. Thanks! I just wanted to verify that before investing any more money or (more important than the money) time into it.

Just be aware that the RPI uses 3.3v logic, pick your sensors accordingly or pick up a few logic level converters.

Best of luck and welcome to OpenHab!

Thanks for the reminder about the voltage levels and for the welcome! I’m looking forward to digging into OpenHAB.

As with most things, the answer is “it depends”.

If you will have more than a couple of bindings, more than a dozen Items/Things, and more than a couple hundred lines of Rules you will probably be very disappointed with the overall performance. You will be looking at 20-30 minute load times for OH, maybe longer. You will be experiencing high latency periodically as stuff gets paged in and out of RAM since the RPi 0 doesn’t really have enough to run it all.

You don’t provide enough information to say whether these problems will impact you but I would plan on needing to upgrade to at least an RPi 2 at some point.