Openhab2 - starting out - really don't get it

So I’ve been using OH1 for about 5 months. Got quite comfortable with the concept of adding a item to the default.items and then adding the item to the default.sitemap.

Now I come to OH2…and are confronted with paperui, basicui, habpanel.

So a bunch of my items are still on an old OH1 system (on frodo), and most a mqtt based. I add the mqtt binding in oh2 expecting to be able to configure in in the paper ui (as my discovered chromecast is able to). Nope it didn’t seem to show up. Ok so I find there’s an mqtt.cfg file to play with - no worries I had a frodo broker, and a openhabianpi broker (this is another OH2 instance with a zwave sensor on it, publishing everything to the mqtt broker - should be a simple mqtt based item to add to my new system).

So I have the mqtt confgured, and have a look back in paper ui…and still see no reference to mqtt. Ok again, back to the terminal and jump into the items folder and paste my zwave items to a file - this feels familiar.

Back in paper ui I look at my configuration/items - oooooh there they are. But there I stop. How do I look at the value? How do I display it. There doesn’t seem to be a way to view it or add it to something. With my chromecast, it appeared in the inbox and I could click on it, or find some channel that if you select it, it showed up in the control part of paper ui. But with an item - I can’t see how to get a list of the channels, or add an item to to be viewable.

What am I missing? And it it something special about mqtt?

I just added the mqtt binding to my openhab2 testing enviroment. :slight_smile:
I noticed the lack of mqtt items in the paperUI, too. :frowning:

I guess its because there is no special binding for openhab2.

It looks like you need to create a sitemap, so you can use classic-ui or basic-ui.

This worked for me.
http://<server-ip>:8080/basicui/app?sitemap=mqtt#