OpenHAB3 / Thing Status / How to extract the thing status and work with it on items

Hi,

I am new to OpenHAB and started to work with version 3.

I struggle with a few things and unfortunately I am a bit confused on which instructions still work for OH3 and which don’t. I’ll post separate questions for each of my problems.

This question is about the Thing Status.

Problem / Goal:

While the thing status is very prominently exposed on the thing itself I cannot find anything similar on the items. All UIs however only seem to work with items.
Therefore, I want to see at first glance when taking a look at an arbitrary item whether the underlying thing is still working correctly or not.

I am looking for a generic way which works for all things / items independently from their binding.

Ideally, I could configure this once and it works for all the items.

What I tried so far:

The thing’s UID is shelly:shellyrgbw2-color:light

• Work with the “Developer Sidebar / Code Tools / Widget Expression Tester” to try to extract the current value of the thing. I tried expressions like
    • =things.shelly:shellyrgbw2-color:light.state
      failing with Error: Unexpected “:” at character 13
    • =ThingAction.getThingStatusInfo("shelly:shellyrgbw2-color:light").getStatus()
      failing with Error: Expected comma at character 38
  • Created a dummy item so that this could be updated via a rule
    • The item’s Name is i_led_health.
      Sorry I have absolutely no idea how to access the item’s code otherwise I would have posted it.
    • Rule:
triggers:
  - id: "1"
    configuration:
      thingUID: shelly:shellyrgbw2-color:light
    type: core.ThingStatusChangeTrigger
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      itemName: i_led_health
      state: =shelly:shellyrgbw2-color:light.state
    type: core.ItemStateUpdateAction

Posts I read so far (seems I am only allowed to post 2 links):

Platform information:

• openHAB version: 3.0.0-2