Openhabian 3 serial binding not sending data pls help

Hello,

I’m new to openhab and one of the first things I’m trying to do is send a string from a raspberry pi 4 running openhabian 3 to an arduino using the serial binding. I’ve spent days researching the serial binding and I just cant get it to work.

Here is the serial bridge thing I created:

Bridge serial:serialBridge:sensors [serialPort="/dev/ttyUSB1", baudRate=9600] {
Channels:
Type string : control []
}

and my String item:

String deviceControl {channel=“serial:serialBridge:sensors:control”}

My rule that should be sending a string to the string channel via the deviceControl item when my WL item changes:

rule “blah”
when
Item WL changed
then
var state = WL.getState
sendCommand(deviceControl,“hi\n”)
end

and finally my arduino code:

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
}
void loop() {
if (Serial.available() > 0) {
String data = Serial.readStringUntil(’\n’);
if(data == “hi”)
{
digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
delay(2000);
digitalWrite(13,LOW);
}
}
}

In the serial bindings docs it says if I send a string to the string channel in the serial bridge it will send that data to the serial port, but it wont work.

Can anybody help?

Does your rule trigger at all? Check the log to see if your item actually changes state
maybe add a log statement to your rule to read out what gets returned
How are you viewing the state of your item? In the user interface? sitemap?

Thank you for the response!!!

the state changes show in my log viewer:

2021-09-01 01:27:34.273 [INFO ] [openhab.event.ItemCommandEvent ] - Item ‘WL’ received command 214,29,89
2021-09-01 01:27:34.279 [INFO ] [openhab.event.ItemStateChangedEvent ] - Item ‘WL’ changed from 173,29,89 to 214,29,89
2021-09-01 01:27:34.360 [INFO ] [openhab.event.ItemCommandEvent ] - Item ‘deviceControl’ received command hi
2021-09-01 01:27:34.363 [INFO ] [penhab.event.ItemStatePredictedEvent] - Item ‘deviceControl’ predicted to become hi