Openhabian and multiple zigbee coordinators

I use two zigbee coordinators, therefore I have two z2m processes running.

I’m studying the possibility of using openhabian. I’ve installed it and noticed that it has support for one z2m process. Is it possible to use two z2m processes ? How ?

I doubt openHABian has built in support for multiple instances of any service. But you should be able to have openHABian config one instance and then you’ll need to follow the instructions for a manual installation of zigbee2mqtt to install the second one. Make sure to change the ports used by the second instance.

As an aside, it seems odd that zigbee2mqtt doesn’t support multiple controllers by itself on one instance.

I think most Z2M users add routers if they need to have more end devices than the coordinator can handle on its own. If so, there’s not much value in adding the capability for a second coordinator in one Z2M instance.

I need two zigbee networks to detect car presence near the garage and not in the front street. I would prefer to have a single zigbee network but in that case I need to know if the car is in the front street or in the rear street.

Very interesting use case! How are you using the coordinators to determine that? Is it based on which coordinator the car connects to first?

I wonder if you could get the same results using the Zigbee binding for one of your coordinators.

The house and garage are two separate buildings in a rectangle of 30x10 meters. The coordinators are rj45 and use different zigbee channels.The car (and other devices in the garage) are paired with only one coordinator. I have 2x cat6 cable between house and garage to connect AP and zigbee coordinator. The front street has zigbee signal from the house coordinator but is too far away from the garage coordinator to receive any signal from it.