Openhabian on a PC?

Hi Folks, n00b here that is starting to get into the home automation thing. After a lot of research I have decided that the box versions aren’t for me as they rely WAY too much on the cloud and I want to do all the processing in house. My question is this. Can you run OpenHabian on a PC. Now I know what many of you will say, just buy a pi it is cheaper etc. My Pi is old and is currently installed as a retro gaming console built into an old NES console. Secondly, I am an IT guy by trade and have access to MANY old systems that I can get for free so that is my main inspiration for using a PC. Lastly I want to do this as inexpensively as possible because I am a cheap bastard :smiley:

So my question stands, can you install openhabian onto a PC ? has it been done before? Are there any downfalls to trying this? Should I just stick with a windows 7 install, make it a thin pc and install openhab from there?

Thanks!!

openHAB can be executed on different versions of Mac OS X and Windows and many different variants of Linux (Ubuntu, Raspbian, …).

http://docs.openhab.org/installation/index.html

Edit: ahh, openHABian! No, as far as I know there is no support for Win and there is no need. Just download openHAB and unzip it to a folder, install Java if not already installed and that’s it:

http://docs.openhab.org/installation/windows.html

Dunno…but if you have a standard PC why would you want openHABian? AFAIK it’s tailored for PIs. I’d just install Ubuntu Server. Wait…actually I DID do that :slight_smile:
And i can only recommend it…

1 Like

I will try the thin client windows first then. I would like to install a linux installation of it just to avoid all of the windows crap that goes on in the background. But I will just take the time to strip all the crapware out .

Thanks!! Also, Anticipate many more questions :slight_smile: