openHABian shared or dedicated

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to OpenHAB but would love to give it a try.

I am currently running to RPi 4s with 8 GB each. I purchased them last summer with 8 GB as I was using them for Media and VPN Servers.

I saw that even for the newest OpenHABian version the 32bit version is recommended.
Is this really still an issue or is that info outdated? Would I be running into problems with OpenHABian 64 bit or would it be a bigger problem running 32bit with 8GB?

Is there a fix/workaround so I can spare my SD Card the heavy load despite my 8 GB RAM on a 32 bit system?

Thank you all for your help.

EDIT:
I would like to expand my question. From what I found, OpenHABian does not come with a desktop environment. Okay, this could probably be installed via ssh or VNC.
But would it generally make more sense to start from a “normal” Raspberry Pi OS and then install OpenHAB via terminal? Is OpenHABian just meant to be a simpler way of getting the server up and running or does it have true benefits to the classical Raspberry Pi OS?

The reason I would like to get it right is that my Raspberry Pi is supposed to not just serve as the brains of my home automation (which is less demanding resource-wise) but actually also handle all IT routing etc.
Meaning, it serves as MediaServer, NAS, VPN server (granting access to all my NAS drives while travelling and internet routing to watch the news etc. without geolocation restrictions). Some of these features to show quite a heavy resource load. Especially when e.g. 4k movies are involved.

Given my needs, I find it far more flexible to work with a desktop environment in place.

Your thoughts on this would be very much appreciated.

Thank you all :slight_smile:

openHAB is recommended to be run on a dedicated system in order to minimize HW & SW dependencies.
Most people don’t want to endanger stability of their home just to save a couple of bucks.