Paper UI, Publishing to MQTT topic in rule

Hi OpenHAB,
There’s much information here on MQTT in general, and in rules in general, but somehow I can’t find the magic topic that answers my question.

I’m new to OpenHAB, and new to MQTT. I installed OpenHAB on a Debian machine using the APT repositories.

The following add-ons are installed (among others, but these seem to be applicable to my question):

• ui-paper - 2.5.2
  • misc-mqttbroker - 2.5.2 (not using it for anything at the moment)
  • misc-ruleengine - 2.5.2
  • binding-mqtt - 2.5.2

What I want to do:
I want to read a field from a Victron controller, similar to what’s done in this topic. Peculiarity of the Victron controller: it publishes its serial number the whole time, but not other data, unless you publish something to it. Hence the cron job in the topic I linked that publishes an empty field to the controller every 30 s.

What I have done:

• I have created a victron_mqtt_broker thing (no channels).
  • I have created a generic victron thing (one channel, reading some AC value).
    ^^This works. If I publish an empty value to an MQTT topic on the controller, my generic victron thing receives the value I’m looking for.

What I have tried:

• I have tried to create a ccgx.rules file similar to the one I linked. This doesn’t seem to do anything.
  • I have tried creating a rule via the PaperUI’s rule interface. The cron part works. The MQTT part is confusing - the only option I get is what broker to use, but not what topic to send to or what command to send to that topic.
  • I have created a channel for the generic victron thing linked to an MQTT command topic. I then linked my rule to that topic, sending something (blank or random text) to that topic. This triggers per the cron job, but doesn’t actually publish anything.