Persistence rrd4j and historicstates

Hi

I’m new to persistence, I will make a log of my rain sensor, for each hour, day, week
I use OH2 and I think a need to use the historicstates, but I am really not sure.
So I need help for build the persist, rule and I item files.

I have some items, Oregon_RainTotal counting up all the time then it is rains one message for 0,5mm rain, so this number can´t be used for anything, but you can count how many inputs there has been the last hour,day,week.

I did find this code on this site, but I don’t know if this is the right code for my job.

Number Oregon_RainTotal "Total rainfall [%.2f mm]" (Rain)
Number Oregon_RainTotal_H "Rainfall Hour [%.2f mm]" (Rain)
Number Oregon_RainTotal_D "Rainfall Day: [%.2f mm]" (Rain)
Number Oregon_RainTotal_W "Rainfall Week: [%.2f mm]" (Rain)

and then I have this rule I found, dont know if it can work for me

rule "Rain Total Changed"
when
    Time cron "* 0/1 * * * ?"
then
    // Post totals update
    Oregon_RainTotal_H.postUpdate(Oregon_RainTotal.deltaSince(now.minusHours(1))
    Oregon_RainTotal_D.postUpdate(Oregon_RainTotal.deltaSince(now.minusDays(1))
    Oregon_RainTotal_W.postUpdate(Oregon_RainTotal.deltaSince(now.minusWeeks(1))

end

)
)

I know anything about persistence but I can see that I need something to get this to work

Isn’t there anybody who can help me further on in my rain project

Which persistence are you using? Any at all so far?
You should be persisting Oregon_RainTotal in order to get anything for your other items.

Hi thanks for helping

I don’t know witch persistence there is best for my project, now I installed RRD4j is it okay?

I’m using rrd4j. However I have no experience in using historicstates with rrd4j, that migth no function.
But I’m sure you do need a working persistence in order to use historicstates!