playSound volume oddity and google home speakers as audio sink

openHAB version: 2.4

TLDR; playSound wasn’t playing at 100% volume on google home speakers.

In my rule, I ran this code:

playSound("doorbell.mp3", new PercentType(100))

The audio sink is a google home mini speaker group (chromecast:audiogroup). However I also observed this behaviour when playing on a single device (chromecast:chromecast).

This is what happened:

• google home speaker volume was at 45% before rule kicked in
  • playSound() was called with a volume argument of 100%
  • openhab increased google home speaker volume up to 100%
  • then the volume goes down again to around 45% (sometimes 46, 48% etc), before the sound was played
  • then the sound was played (at the reduced volume)

Could this be a bug? I haven’t yet delved into the source code to look, hoping that someone more experienced here could tell me right away.

Hi,

I’ve had some similar experience and although I do not have a conclusive answer, some of the info below might be useful:

What I have also tried is to first set the volume of the Google home to a higher value, so 100% in your example, and then use the playSound command afterwards. I imagine that is what the playSound command with the volume percentage as argument does internally as well.
Based on that, I concluded that the Google home basically gradually increases the volume to the desired volume, and that the playSound command is received while it is still increasing the volume from 45% to 100%. When that happens, the results are rather unpredictable. In any case, my guess is that this is a “feature” or bug of the Google home itself.

Maybe setting a short delay between the volume command and the playSound command might help here, but that is just a guess from my side for now, as I cannot test it right now with everyone asleep.