Possibly Stupid Question about Zigbee Bulbs and Power Cuts

Hi folks, I had a thought last night that’s been bothering me.

I’m just getting into all this and have invested in a starting set of Zigbee bulbs, outlets, and switches from Ikea (Tradfri) in order to bootstrap a robust network. I also have a few sensors from Xiaomi but I think those were a mistake considering their terrible Zigbee network behaviour. Anyways…

The Ikea bulbs, at least, have a nice behaviour pattern when it comes to regular power switches such as most houses already have: whatever the bulb had most recently been set to, if you turn it off at the power switch and back on again, it comes on. This is good when you’re living with people who are smart-thing-sceptics, because it means they can carry on turning things on and off in the way they’re accustomed to, at least at first until they see the light.

However, this suddenly made me rethink my plan of installing the bulbs in the bedrooms, too: what happens when there’s a blackout? When power is restored, do all of the bulbs go straight to 100%, as if the wall switch had been flicked to ‘on’? So, in the middle of the night sometimes, we’ll all suddenly get woken by blinding brightness as power is lost and restored? That’s not something we can consider here, there are members of my family with heart conditions that would be put at risk. :confused:

Hoping to learn more about this, perhaps there are brands of bulb that don’t do this that are more suited to bedroom use, or perhaps there is a way to configure the Tradfri bulbs not to do this.

If it’s relevant, I’m not using the Tradfri bridge, I’m using zigbee2mqtt for everything.

Yes. The bulbs have no way to know the difference between a power outage and loss of power because the switch was flipped off.