Problems with my first OH2 setup

I’ve been running openHAB for 2 years now and thought it was time to move over to openHAB2 but so far I’m having a hard time getting it to do what I want. Well, I actually have a hard time getting it to do anything at all (except installing without error messages)

I’m trying to set it up on a Odroid C1+ running the 14.04.5 image (considering flashing the first 16.04 image but I’m always afraid of the first image…)
I’ve been using the apt-get method.
So far I’ve played around with the Beta Release (offline) and both offline and online for the Snapshot Release.
The online version just got a massive amount of error messages when trying to set it up with standard. Didn’t copy the error log but I think there was something about failing to download files or connect somewhere.

What I’m trying to do as a first step is to get the simplest of sitemaps up and running just displaying the date and time by using the NTP binding.
My thought here was to use the UI for the configuration but I’m not sure that is the way I want to go any more.
I just create the sitemap as per openHAB 1 style and the sitemap is displayed correctly. I cannot however get it to show the correct time.
I’ve installed the NTP Binding under Extensions->Bindings
I’ve created a Thing with the help of Inbox.
I now have two channels (both channels are linked).
Date (ntp:ntp:local:dateTime)
Date (ntp:ntp:local:string)
Under Control the date and time is correctly displayed.
The sitemap is also displayed correctly except that the date is not displayed. Instead only the item name is displayed.
The demo works but that isn’t using the Paper UI as far as I can see.

So, what am I missing??

A few questions I’ve run into during my attempts.

1. Where is the jsondb file stored on an apt-get linux install.?

2. What actually happens when you press Install on a binding or action in the Paper UI? The /usr/share/openhab2/addons folder remains empty at least.