Proliphx IMT550C Ethernet Thermostat

I’d like to try to create a binding for the Proliphx IMT550C Ethernet thermostat.

I’m a huge fan of this Proliphix thermostat because not only can it be WIRED with an Ethernet cable (i.e. reliable) but it is totally CLOUDLESS just like OpenHAB. It also has integrated relays and sensors that can be used any number of things, including temperature sensing/averaging motion/occupancy sensing, hvac inhibition, multistage heat/cool support and more. They used to be expensive, but you can get them on ebay for about $100. You can also still buy them new.

I imagine it should be quite straightforward due to the device’s simple REST-ful API (for most of its features). The API is similar to the OLD SCHOOL network thermostat the Proliphix NT20 (which seems to be one of the first network thermostats to be commercially available). As such, support for the thermostat already exists in other platforms like home-assistant.io

I’m brand new to OpenHAB but am passionate about IOT. What’s the best way to start learning to develop a binding, or at least help others utilize this incredible thermostat with OpenHAB? Sending restful commands to the stat is the easy part. What I’m having difficulty finding out the HVAC concepts that exist in OpenHAB. For example, are there already existing methods for, say, group-setback for multi-zone facilities etc., or conversely group-setpoint override to simultaneously toggle multiple zones for the HVAC in a space that was in setback? Does Openhab already have methods for keeping state for ‘occupancy’ by way of other sensors things like wi-fi association, explicit occupancy sensors, etc.?

A push in the right direction for a Noob contributor would be much appreciated.

3 Likes

Welcome to openHAB, then. Nice intro, most people want us to do something for them :slight_smile:
On the organizational part of contributing, see http://docs.openhab.org/appendix/contributing.html.