Propane Tank Monitor TankUtility Python Script

I put together a small Python script to check the TankUtility propane tank gauge and put into an openHAB item which you can see below. I’ve just started using it, so I can’t say much about the script or the gauge reliability. I’ll post an update as I use it more.

Some notes:

1. The gauge updates once per day, so there is no point in running this more than once per day.
  2. This is not local; it pulls the data from TankUtility’s server. If I find out how to get the data locally, I’ll change the script.
  3. You need an RRD gauge on your tank which TankUtility will sell you for $15 if you don’t already have this.
  4. I chose Python because I’m guessing that this could be converted to a Jython rule easily. I think this can be done fairly easily in rules DSL as well.
  5. I call the script from cron once per day.
  6. There is no error checking - that needs to be added.

The API is here. I am new to Python, so I’m sure this could use some improvement. There is other data that can be collected as well including the time of the reading and the temperature (of what? there’s no sensor in the tank - maybe it is the interface box’s temperature).

import requests
from requests.auth import HTTPBasicAuth

# change these appropriately
openHABHostAndPort = 'http://192.168.1.216:8080'
TankUser           = 'email@somewhere.com'
TankPassword       = 'whatever'

def putToOpenHAB(item, itemData):
    ItemURL = openHABHostAndPort + '/rest/items/' + item + '/state'
    OpenHABResponse = requests.put(ItemURL, data = str(itemData).encode('utf-8'), allow_redirects = True)

def Main():
    jsonTokenResponse = requests.get('https://data.tankutility.com/api/getToken', auth=HTTPBasicAuth(TankUser, TankPassword)).json()
    jsonDeviceResponse = requests.get('https://data.tankutility.com/api/devices?token=' + jsonTokenResponse["token"]).json()
    # below is querying the first tank in the account - adjust the [0] if you want other tanks